The average US wedding cost $34,200 in The Knot 2026 Real Weddings Study (117 guests, about $292 per guest). A courthouse wedding is cheaper by orders of magnitude: in the big counties we checked, the license plus the official ceremony fee comes to roughly $60–$220. The rest of the budget is whatever you choose to add: rings, an outfit, a photographer for an hour, lunch with the people who came.
Below are the fees exactly as the official county, city and court pages list them in October 2026, with the source for each row. Fees change, so check the linked page the week you apply.
Fees in 8 large jurisdictions (October 2026)
| Jurisdiction | Marriage license | Ceremony fee | Typical total | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New York City (City Clerk) | $35 | $25 at a City Clerk office | $60 | NYC311 license, NYC311 ceremony |
| Los Angeles County (RR/CC) | $91 public / $85 confidential | $35; county-provided witness $20 | $120–$146 | lavote.gov fees |
| Cook County, IL (Chicago) | $60 | $10 administrative fee at the courthouse | $70 | Cook County Clerk, Circuit Court of Cook County |
| Harris County, TX (Houston) | $81 ($181 if neither partner has Texas ID); up to $60 off with a Twogether in Texas course | $100 at Probate Court No. 1 (free for active military, veterans, first responders) | $121–$181 ($281 without Texas ID) | Harris County Clerk, Probate Court No. 1 |
| Maricopa County, AZ (Phoenix) | $98 | set by each Justice Court judge, usually $100–$120, cash only | $198–$218 | Maricopa Justice Courts, Clerk of Superior Court |
| Miami-Dade County, FL | $86, or $61 with a premarital course | $30 | $91–$116 | Miami-Dade Clerk |
| King County, WA (Seattle) | $169 | no clerk ceremony; judges may charge their own fee | $169 + officiant | King County Recorder |
| Clark County, NV (Las Vegas) | $102 | $75 at the Office of Civil Marriages, card only (plus card processing fee) | $177+ | Clark County Clerk fees |
"Typical total" means license + ceremony only. It leaves out certified copies (see below) and any card processing fees.
Waiting periods, witnesses and timing
The fee is the easy part. What trips couples up is the gap between buying the license and being allowed to use it, and the witness rule.
| Jurisdiction | Wait after license | License valid for | Witnesses for the courthouse ceremony |
|---|---|---|---|
| New York City | 24 hours (a judge can waive it, free) | 60 days (180 days for active military) | 1 witness, 18+, with ID; max 6 people in the room including you |
| Los Angeles County | not listed for the license | set by state law; check the RR/CC page | 1 witness for a public license (or pay $20 for one); none for a confidential license |
| Cook County | license must be at least 1 day old | ceremony within 60 days, in Cook County | not stated on the court page; ask when you book |
| Harris County | 72 hours (waived with the Twogether certificate or for active military) | officiant must sign within 90 days | not stated; ask the court |
| Maricopa County | not stated on the court page | 1 year from purchase | 2 witnesses, 18+ |
| Miami-Dade | 3 days for Florida residents unless you took the premarital course; none for non-residents | 60 days | not stated; call the Marriage License Bureau |
| King County | 3 days, and it "cannot be waived under any circumstances, including court order" | 60 days (the county page words this two ways; call 206-477-6620 if your date is close to the edge) | 2 witnesses |
| Clark County | not stated on the fee page | check with the clerk | check with the clerk |
Where a cell says "not stated", the official page we read did not give the rule. Don't assume there is none. Call the clerk.
How a courthouse wedding actually works
- Pick the office and read its ceremony page. Many offices now run on appointments only. NYC books license and ceremony appointments through Project Cupid and does not take walk-ins. Los Angeles County does civil ceremonies by appointment only, prepaid, and will not book one until you have the license. Miami-Dade accepts walk-ins as well as online appointments, Monday to Friday, 9 am to 4 pm.
- Check the waiting period against your date. If you want to marry on a Friday in Houston without the premarital course, the license has to be bought by Tuesday. Use the days-until-wedding calculator to count it out.
- Buy the license together. Both partners usually appear in person with government photo ID. Harris County has a notarized affidavit for an absent applicant; ask your clerk whether there is an equivalent.
- Bring the right money. This catches people more often than paperwork does:
- NYC accepts credit/debit cards or money orders, no cash or personal checks.
- Maricopa Justice Courts take the ceremony fee in cash only.
- Cook County's Rolling Meadows and Bridgeview courthouses take the $10 fee in cash only.
- Clark County's civil ceremony is card only, with a processing fee on top.
- Bring your witness(es). NYC needs one witness 18 or older with ID. Maricopa and King County require two.
- Make sure the license gets recorded. At a clerk or court ceremony the office usually handles this. If a judge or friend marries you elsewhere, the officiant has to return the paperwork, within 30 days in King County, for example.
- Order certified copies. You need them for a name change, insurance and benefits (see our name change guide). Prices vary a lot: Clark County lists $20 for a certified marriage certificate; other counties charge more or less, so check your clerk's fee page.
A realistic courthouse wedding budget
Here is a total for a couple marrying in a large county with about 10 people present. The fees are the official ones above. Everything else is a choice, so put in your own quotes rather than relying on someone else's averages.
| Item | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| License + ceremony | $60–$220 | table above |
| 2–3 certified copies | county fee × 2–3 | e.g. $60 for three in Clark County ($20 each) |
| Parking, card fees, transit | a few dollars to ~$50 | Clark County: 2% + $1.25 per card transaction |
| Rings | your choice | The Knot 2026 average for wedding rings is about $3,000 |
| Outfit | your choice | anything from what you already own up to the $2,100 average dress |
| Photographer for 1–2 hours | get quotes | full-day coverage averages $3,000 (The Knot 2026); short courthouse sessions are priced separately |
| Lunch or dinner for the group | your choice | you set the guest count |
For many couples the paperwork lands under $150 and the whole day under $1,000, but the extras decide that, not the courthouse. To compare against a full reception, run both versions through the wedding cost calculator and see our 2026 wedding cost breakdown.
Ways to make it cheaper (or fancier)
- Premarital course discounts. In our table these exist in Texas (Harris County: up to $60 off and no 72-hour wait) and Florida (Miami-Dade: $86 → $61, and Florida residents skip the 3-day wait). Minnesota has a similar discount (license requirements guide).
- Military. Harris County's Probate Court No. 1 marries active military, veterans and first responders for free. Maricopa Justice Courts may offer a no-cost daytime ceremony to active military (call first). Harris County waives the 72-hour wait for active-duty personnel.
- A confidential license in California. In Los Angeles County it costs $85 instead of $91 and needs no witness for the express ceremony. Ask the clerk about the other differences (how the record is kept and who can get copies) before choosing it.
- Have a friend marry you instead of the clerk. Los Angeles County's "Deputy Commissioner for a Day" costs $75; Clark County's single-ceremony officiant permit costs $55. Rules vary a lot, see can a friend officiate your wedding.
- Sign at the courthouse, celebrate later. Some couples marry legally at the courthouse and hold a bigger party, or a destination ceremony, later (destination wedding guide).
Common mistakes
- Showing up without an appointment where walk-ins aren't accepted (NYC).
- Bringing the wrong payment. Cash-only courtrooms and card-only clerk offices both exist.
- Forgetting the witness in a county that requires one, or bringing too many guests (NYC caps the room at 6).
- Ignoring the waiting period in Washington (3 days, cannot be waived), Texas (72 hours) or New York (24 hours).
- Letting the license expire. Miami-Dade and NYC licenses last 60 days; Maricopa's lasts a year.
- Ordering only one certified copy. Social Security, the DMV, the passport office and banks all want to see one.
FAQ
What is the cheapest courthouse wedding in a big US city?
Among the eight jurisdictions we checked, New York City was cheapest at $60 ($35 license + $25 ceremony), followed by Cook County at $70 ($60 + $10).
Can we get married at the courthouse the same day?
Sometimes. It depends on the waiting period: in our table, NYC requires 24 hours, Cook County one day, Harris County 72 hours (unless waived), and King County 3 days with no exceptions. Miami-Dade has no wait for non-Florida residents.
Do we need witnesses at the courthouse?
It depends on the office: one in NYC, two in Maricopa and King County, and none for a confidential license in California. Some clerks provide a witness for a fee ($20 in Los Angeles County).
Can guests come to a courthouse wedding?
Usually a few. NYC allows no more than 6 people including the couple and witness, and Los Angeles County's express ceremonies keep family and friends outside the license window. Harris County's probate court welcomes friends and family, and Cook County's Skokie courthouse allows up to 15 guests.
Is a courthouse wedding legally different from a church wedding?
No. Both are legal marriages once the license is signed and recorded. The courthouse just supplies the officiant and the room.
Sources
- NYC311, Marriage License ($35; 24-hour wait; valid 60 days, 180 for active military; payment methods): https://portal.311.nyc.gov/article/?kanumber=KA-02115
- NYC311, Marriage Ceremony ($25; 1 witness 18+; up to 6 attendees; appointment required): https://portal.311.nyc.gov/article/?kanumber=KA-02124
- NYC Office of the City Clerk (appointments only, Project Cupid): https://www.cityclerk.nyc.gov/content/getting-married
- Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk, fees ($91 public, $85 confidential, $35 ceremony, $20 witness, $75 Deputy Commissioner for a Day): https://lavote.gov/home/county-clerk/marriage-licenses-ceremonies/fees/fees
- Los Angeles County RR/CC, ceremonies (appointment only, express ceremony, witness rules): https://lavote.gov/home/county-clerk/marriage-licenses-ceremonies/ceremonies
- Cook County Clerk, marriage FAQ ($60 license): https://www.cookcountyclerkil.gov/service/marriage-equality
- Circuit Court of Cook County, Marriage and Civil Union ($10 fee; license 1–60 days before the ceremony; locations and hours): https://www.cookcountycourtil.gov/case-type/marriage-and-civil-union
- Harris County Clerk, Personal Records ($81 / $181; Twogether in Texas discount; 72-hour wait; 90-day signing window): https://cclerk.hctx.net/PersonalRecords.aspx
- Harris County Probate Court No. 1, Weddings ($100; free for military, veterans, first responders): https://probate.harriscountytx.gov/Probate-Court-No-1/Weddings
- Maricopa County Justice Courts, Get Married ($98 license; valid 1 year; judge's fee usually $100–$120, cash; 2 witnesses): https://justicecourts.maricopa.gov/i-want-to/get-married
- Maricopa County Clerk of Superior Court, Marriage Licenses: https://www.clerkofcourt.maricopa.gov/records/marriage-licenses-passports/marriage-licenses
- Miami-Dade Clerk, Marriage Licenses ($86 / $61; $30 ceremony; 3-day wait for residents; valid 60 days): https://www.miamidadeclerk.gov/clerk/marriage-licenses.page
- King County Recorder's Office, Marriage licensing ($169; 3-day wait; 2 witnesses; officiants): https://kingcounty.gov/en/dept/executive-services/certificates-permits-licenses/records-licensing/recorders-office/marriage-licensing
- Clark County Clerk, Fees ($102 license; $75 civil ceremony; $55 single-ceremony officiant; $20 certified marriage certificate; card fee): https://www.clarkcountynv.gov/government/elected_officials/county_clerk/fees
- The Knot 2026 Real Weddings Study (average $34,200, 117 guests; vendor averages): https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20260218045442/en/The-Knot-Worldwide-Unveils-2026-Real-Weddings-Study
- Fees as listed on 27 October 2026. Confirm with the office before you go.